Let’s begin with congratulating all those bachelors and bachelorettes who will be marrying in 2021! Now’s the time when there will be discussion on venues, decorator, caterer, choreographer and so on. But before you begin this new phase of life, you must first start taking decision on the important part of your wedding – a wedding date in 2021!

Why you should consider wedding dates seriously?

  • As per Hindu customs, there are many auspicious periods present during a year that bode well for a long sustaining relationship. Ancestors have always placed preference over these dates.
  • For the modern couple, it is important to pay attention to ease and comfort while selecting a wedding date. A weekend wedding can prove to be a relaxing affair not just for the prime family but also for the guests.
  • Also, with so many errands to take care before a wedding, it is important to set a date that comes at least six months from now.
  • If you wish to host a destination wedding in the most relaxing manner, we recommend planning a year in advance.

How astrologers calculate muhurat & wedding dates?


Since there are different stances taken by renowned Pandits, there is no single, unique way about to find out wedding dates. Generally, astrologists, with the help of positions of elements in solar system, determine auspcious time periods called muhurats. Apart from positions, birth charts of couple (Janam Kundlis) are used by Pandit to pick few dates.

As prevalent in India, your family’s Panditji will be looking up for wedding dates that will provide auspicious beginning to your new life. Since the auspicious dates for Hindu wedding are widely available, we would like to enable you to be one step ahead by sharing the auspicious wedding dates along with  muhurat (time period).

Muhurat & Wedding Dates in 2021

January

 

As spring kicks in, January is synonymous to new beginnings. With new resolutions and beautiful weather, you can look forward to tie the knot. January, being the first month of the year, is considered to be auspicious by and bring health, wealth and fortune.

There are three wedding dates in January, with weekends falling on 17th & 24th.

Marriage DateMuhuratNakshatra
18th January (Monday)18:27 to 31:14+Uttara Bhadrapada
20th January (Wednesday)00:00 to 12:36Revati
24th January (Sunday)00:00 to 10:01Rohini
31th January (Sunday)00:00 to 02:28Magha

February 2021

February

 

The month of February marks celebration of love. It is an important month especially for the modern couples. Many millenials choose a date from the week preceding Valentine’s Day. This gives them opportunity to make their anniversaries in future memorable. 

In the month of love, there will be auspicious saya every Sunday.

MarriageMuhuratNakshatra
01st February (Monday)18:25 to 23:59Uttara Phalguni
07th February (Sunday)16:14 to 39:21Moola
14th February (Sunday)16:33 to 25:59Uttara Bhadrapada
21st February (Sunday)15:42 to 34:58Mrigashirsha
28th February (Sunday)11:19 to 16:21Uttara Phalguni

March 2021

March 

 

With winters almost finishing, March is a time when you can wed in a pleasant weather. You can also choose a date when Holi is around the corner and have a colorful wedding.

You can plan for a Holi celebration cum pool party on 10th March and have your wedding on 11th. 8th March will be the only weekend date for wedding.

Marriage Dates MuhuratNakshatra
03rd March (Wednesday)03:29 to 12:22Swati
05th March (Friday)08:54 to 19:54Anuradha
08th March (Monday)20:40 to 23:59Uttara Ashadha
14th March (Sunday)17:06 to 18:09Uttara Bhadrapada

April 2021

April

With April having many wedding dates, it will be quite busy time for suppliers. It is advisable to book them in advance. In April, many destination weddings happen in hill station as afterwards, the resorts will be jam packed with tourists. In case, you are planning for a destination wedding, be cautious of the exam dates which may affect some of your guests. 

This year April will feature back to back weekend wedding dates on 25th & 26th.

Marriage DatesMuhuratNakshatra
16th April (Friday)18:06 to 23:59Rohini
22nd April (Thursday)17:01 to 07:42Magha
24th April (Saturday)18:22 to 11:43Uttara Phalungi
25th April (Sunday)08:14 to 04:13Hasta
26th April (Monday)23:06 to 05:44Swati
27th  April (Tuesday)05:44 to  20:03Swati
28th April (Wednesday)17:13 to 11:48Anuradha
29th  April (Thursday)05:42 to 23:49Anuradha
30th April (Friday)19:10 to 23:59Moola

May 2021

May

It is quite important to avoid outdoor venues as it will be quite hot any time of the day. A pool party can be a great relief for your wedding guests. Brides also need to be careful with their makeup. Hence, a cool spot in wedding can be a relief.

In case you are planning for 2 days destination wedding, you may avoid 2nd May as your suppliers my have their labour on holiday on 1st May. As always, May remains the busiest wedding month with 12 dates on offer.

Marriage DateMuhuratNakshatra
1st  May (Saturday)05:40 to 10:16Mula
2nd May (Sunday)08:59 to 13:50Uttara Ashadha
03rd May (Monday)02:09 to 08:22Uttara Ashadha
07th May (Friday)19:30 to 23:59Uttara Bhadrapada
08th May (Saturday)05:35 to 05:34Uttara Bhadrapada
09th May (Sunday)05:34 to 10:49Revati
13th May (Thursday)12:51 to 05:31Rohini
14th May (Friday)12:50 to 23:59Rohini
21th May (Friday)03:22 to 23:59Uttara Phalguni
22nd May (Saturday)05:27 to 20:03Uttara Phalguni ,Hasta
23rd May (Sunday)06:43 to 12:12Hasta
24th May (Monday)11:13 to 23:59Swati
26th May (Wednesday)06:36 to 01:16Anuradha
27th May (Monday)22:29 to 20:01Moola
28th May (Friday)05:25 to 20:01Mula
29th May(Saturday)18:04 to 05:24Uttara Ashadha
30th May (Sunday)04:03 to 16:41Uttara Ashadha

June 2021

June

With the temperatures soaring, indoor halls are a must in case you choose a wedding date in this month. Many of your guests might find it convenient to attend your wedding if it falls on a date in June with summer vacations going on.

In 2020, June will be the last month before off season starts. There will be 7 dates having muhurats with three falling on weekend.

Marriage DateMuhuratNakshatra
03rd June (Thursday)18:35 to 05:23Uttara Bhadrapada
04th June (Friday)02:22 to 15:11Uttara Bhadrapada
05th June (Saturday)05:23 to 16:48Revati
16th June (Wednesday)05:23 to  22:15Magha
19th June (Saturday)05:23 to 20:29Hasta
20th June (Sunday)20:59 to 02:59Swati
21st June (Monday)13:31 to 16:45Swati
22nd June (Tuesday)13:23 to 05:24Anuradha
23th June (Wednesday)12:00 to 06:59Anuradha
24th June (Thursday)13:33 to 05:25Mula

July 2021

July

With the temperatures soaring, indoor halls are a must in case you choose a wedding date in this month. Many of your guests might find it convenient to attend your wedding if it falls on a date in June with summer vacations going on.

In 2020, June will be the last month before off season starts. There will be 7 dates having muhurats with three falling on weekend.

Marriage DatesMuhuratNakshatra
01st July (Thursday)05:27 to 05:27Uttara Bhadrapada
02nd July (Friday)05:27 to 10:54Revati
07th July (Wednesday)15:36 to 03:20Rohini
13th July (Tuesday)09:21 to 14:49Magha
15th July (Thursday)05:33 to 11:44Uttara Phalguni

No wedding dates in August, September & October 2021

These four months fall under ‘no saya’ periods offering no wedding dates. On the positive side, you will find vendors available for your wedding. You will also be able to get off season discount for any date you choose. A destination wedding in Udaipur can be a great option during these months as weather will be quite pleasant

November brings back sizzling wedding industry back to life after a break of four months. It is that time of the year when wedding destinations like Goa, Rajasthan and even Thailand are at their peak.

Only 2 wedding dates seems to be having muhurats. None of these sates are falling on weekends.

Marriage DatesMuhuratNakshatra
15th November (Monday)06:44 to 06:44Uttara Bhadrapada
16th November (Tuesday)06:44 to 13:43Revati
20th November (Saturday)06:48 to 06:48Rohini
21st November (Sunday)00:00 to 09:08Rohini
28th November (Sunday)22:06 to 06:55Uttara Phalguni
29th November (Monday)06:55 to 16:57Uttara Phalguni
30th November (Tuesday)06:56 to 20:34Hasta

December

In December, in case you wish to host a wedding in a hotel or resort, it will be easy on your wallet if you choose any date before 15th. Dates after 15th are more popular for NRI weddings.

With only five dates in December, destination wedding resorts will be in great demand as December is one of the most favorite month for Indian weddings. 7th, 8th & 9th December are back to back wedding dates with muhurats.

Marriage DatesMuhuratNakshatra
01st December (Wednesday)18:47 to 23:35Swati
02nd December (Thursday)06:57 to 16:28Swati
06st December (Monday)02:19 to 07:01Uttara Ashadha
07th December (Tuesday)07:01 to 13:02Uttara Ashadha
11th December (Saturday)22:32 to 06:04Uttara Bhadrapada
13th December (Monday)05:45 to 23:59Revati

Note – 24-hour clock with Indian Standard Time adjusted for all Muhurat timings (if applicable)

Inauspicious wedding dates in 2020

Due to some Hindu traditions, some dates are considered inauspicious and given below along with reasons.

PeriodStartEnd
Kharmaas15th March 14th April
Chaaturmas4th July 13th Nov
Tara Asta31st May 9th June
Shraadh1st Sept 17th Sept

All dates falling on solar and lunar eclipse

Important tips for wedding dates:

  1. A muhurat is a time duration which is believed to be very lucky for important phases of life like wedding. These muhurats can be considered for couples of all culture.
  2. There are certain dates in the calendar known as Abhuj Sava. These are so auspicious that you can go ahead with them with blind faith.
  3. If you are considering wedding on dates having public holidays like weekends, national holidays, it is advisable to book vendors in advance  as there is high demand on such periods.

PLEASE NOTE: The dates given are general in nature. Since, people following different traditions may have different opinion about wedding dates, some of these dates may not be auspicious. Hence, it is advisable to consult your pandit for the exact date based on your kundalis!